0 0 0
EFC Sponsors UTC and DOE’s 6th Annual Critical Infrastructure Communications Policy Summit

Submitted by EFC Team on August 19th, 2015

Whether it is spectrum access, rural broadband, cybersecurity, the IP transition or policy initiatives – the electric, gas, oil and water industries are on the front lines and undergoing transformational change as they contend with major technology, policy and market shifts. While each industry has some unique requirements, they all have one thing in common: they need a reliable, robust and secure communications system to manage and control their operations and support their own modernization efforts.

Attend the 6th Annual Critical Infrastructure Communications Policy Summit, September 16 at the Williard Intercontinental Hotel, Washington, DC to hear members of the federal and state policy communities address the challenges and potential innovative solutions to communications needs. Attendees can participate in strategic conversations about:

  • Are State and Federal Policies a barrier to modernization?
  • Challenges to spectrum access for Critical Infrastructure
  • Are utilities the solution to the problem of high cost Rural Broadband Access?
  • What’s needed to promote the development of tools and standards for improved cybersecurity?
  • Responding to carriers’ phase out of analog networks and private line services

Click Here to Register


Join UTC and DOE in Washington, DC to hear the following speakers:

  • Nadya Bartol, VP, Industry Affairs and Cybersecurity Strategist, UTC
  • Raj Barua, Executive Director, National Regulatory Research Institute
  • Billy Bob Brown, Jr, PMP, Supervisory Program Analyst at Department of Homeland Security
  • Johnathan Chambers, Chief, Office of Strategic Planning and Policy Analysis, Federal Communications Commission
  • Jon Claffey, Deputy Assistant Administrator, Rural Utilities Service, US Department of Agriculture
  • Connie Durcsak, CEO and President, Utilities Telecom Council
  • Aryeh Fishman, Director, Regulatory Legal Affairs, EEI
  • Jonathan Hager, Chair, UTC Public Policy Division, Tri-State G&T
  • Bob Hance, President and CEO, MidWest Energy Cooperative
  • Shannon Heim, Senior Counsel, Dykema Gossett PLLC
  • Chris Irwin, Smart Grid Communications Program Manager, DOE
  • Phil Jones, Commissioner, Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission
  • Betty Ann Kane, Chairman, District of Columbia Public Service Commission
  • Charles Kiely, Assistant General Manager, DC Water and Sewer
  • Brett Kilbourne, Vice President Government Relations and Deputy General Counsel, Utilities Telecom Council
  • Julie Knapp, Chief, Office of Engineering and Technology, Federal Communications Commission
  • Mike Koch, Solution Architect Energy & Utility Market, Motorola Solutions, Inc.
  • John McClain, Office of Emergency Communications, Department of Homeland Security
  • Doug McGinnis, Principal Smart Grid Communications Architect, Exelon
  • Kathleen Nelson, Sr. Telecommunications Engineer Information Technology, Great River Energy
  • Michael Quinn, VP Strategy & Chief Technology Officer, Oncor Electric Delivery
  • Matt Schnell, Telecomms O&M Supervisor, Nebraska Public Power District
  • Matt Scholl, Division Chief, Computer Security Division, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Admiral David Simpson, Chief Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau, Federal Communications Commission
  • Jeffrey Taft, Chief Architect Electric Grid Transformation, Pacific Northwest National Labs
  • Ron Taylor, Senior Principal Engineer, Salt River Project



  • Alcatel Lucent
  • Burns and McDonnell
  • Dykema Gossett PLLC
  • Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC
  • Keller & Heckman, LLP
  • Lockard & White
  • Motorola Solutions, Inc.
  • Stinson Leonard Street LLP


  • American Association of Blacks in Energy (AABE)
  • American Petroleum Institute
  • Edison Electric Institute
  • Energy Bar Association (EBA)
  • Energy Future Coalition
  • Federal Communications Bar Association
  • GridWise Alliance
  • National Association of Water Companies
  • National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA)
  • Rural Broadband Council (RBC)
  • Smart Networks Council (SNC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *